Dainese Trail Skins First Ride review

To update my previous post, trying pads on and wandering around the house is not the same as going for a proper cycle so while the trail skins felt ok in the house and on the quick cycle round the block the big test would be a trip out to glentress.

I fitted the pads as soon as we arrived and kept them on for the next 3 hours.  It was warm and very humid so perfect weather to test how comfy the pads are.

Dainese trail skins

The pads are not invisible so you do notice they are there but in the same way a glove feels. I put the pads on tighter than I did when they first arrived but not so tight I lost feeling in my feet. To start with there was a bit of irritation at the velcro at the top of the pad but this wore off once the pads sorted themselves into position. I felt the material at the back of the pad but it caused no irritation and there was no rubbing on my knee cap either.

Dainese trail skins

The pads were never called into action so I have no idea how good they actually are at impacts but I was never bothered about the pads being on and I didn’t notice them when I was on the downhill trails.  I did feel them when climbing but it wasn’t a issue and I had no marks from rubbing or sweat.  The other issue with pads is heat, my knees didn’t over heat and at no point did I feel the need to remove them.   The pads are more comfy with your knees bent but not uncomfy when standing.

I’m quite pleased with the fit and the level of comfort from the trail skin – only time will tell how well the pads will react to abuse.

 

8 thoughts on “Dainese Trail Skins First Ride review

  1. Kev

    Hi, my measurements are very similar to yours, now that you’ve used them for a while do you think they are a good fit? They do look a little big, what do you think?

    Reply
    1. Ross Post author

      Hi Kev, yes they are a good fit and they settle in to place very quickly. I’ve had a couple of offs and they have protected my knees particularly the side padding.

      Reply
  2. Michael

    Hi, I recently stumbled across your blog and the review of Trail Skins. Been wondering about them lately, and though I’m almost sure I want them, I’m not that sure about the sizing. I mean I measure about 39 cm (knee girth), 46 cm above the knee (10 cm from the middle of cap) and 41-42 (depending on the leg) below the knee (15 cm). Dainese sizing chart says I should get: size M (because of the knee girth), size M (because of the upper leg) and size XL (when considering the calf). I’m confused. From what you said about your measurements I should be somewhere inbetween L and XL, though I’m worried the XL’s will allow too much movement of the knee cap, therefore causing abrasions. Any suggestions ?

    Reply
  3. Mel

    Hi, would like to seek your advise regarding sizing coz im confuse wether to avail the M (52/36) or L(54/39), my actual measurement of thigh is 50cm and calf 38cm. Hope to hear from you based on your actual experienced. Appreciate it much. Tnks in advance – mel

    Reply
      1. mel

        thanks Ross, it seems the sizing chart provided by dainese is not applicable for the trailskin =) … thanks again

Leave a comment